Mahmoud Darwish: A Personal Dialogue in Samarkand

22 Mar

Mahmoud Darwish, who I like to call the Arab World’s answer to James Elroy Flecker, wrote a fantastic poem on Samarkand. Here is a part in translation. Next time I will do something funny I swear.

“If my heart breaks it cries: Samarkand.

This is the beat

Samarkand is a camp for my wandering spirit

and five sides of my mother’s tears.

Samarkand is a silken thread

that links the banks of the wadi to mares that bring the rains

and a voice fallen from God

and then breaks.

Samarkand is a winding river.

Samarkand is a camp for my wandering spirit.”

 

Leave a Reply

